News Report

Ballyglass Masters Team 2022/23

News Report

Oliver Kelleher Masters Cup Semi Finals Review


Westport United and Ballyglass will face-off in the Masters Cup final after they came through the respective semi-finals on a chilly night in Solar 21 Park

Westport United broke down a stubborn Ballinrobe Town side before easing their way into the decider. Jesper Frisch scored the opener early on and Joe Lawless finished off a brilliant move to make it two-nil shortly after, but Ballinrobe got a lifeline when Shane Nallen handled in the penalty area and JP O’Gorman converted from the spot to pull a goal back. The Covies showed their class second half through a brilliant free-kick by captain Danny Scahill, and additional goals by Dave Hoban, Shane Nallen, Pat Morrison and Stephan Stuckler to run out 7-1 winners in the end. Ballinrobe finished the game with five men following the dismissals of Conor Maloney and Padraic Costello.

The other semi-final was a seesaw battle between Kiltimagh/Knock United and the sole Division 2 side left remaining in the competition Ballyglass. Kiltimagh/Knock punished some slack Ballyglass defending to go three up through Conor Heneghan, Sean Garvey and John O’Hara, before goalkeeper Pat Delaney pulled a goal back before half-time. The red and white, who are also in a Division 2 playoff final with Iorras Aontaithe for the league title later this month, raised the tempo in the second half and hit four without reply through Alan Larkin, Jimmy Killeen, Alan Plunkett and Tony Killeen. Strikes by O’Hara and Garvey either side of a goal by Plunkett set up a tense finale and Kiltimagh/Knock missed a chance to level it late on as Garvey saw an effort cleared off the line. Ballyglass made it all certain in the closing stages through a swift counter-attack that was finished off by Jimmy Killeen to seal a 7-5 victory.

The cup final will take place next Wednesday night in Solar 21 Park, with kick-off at 7.30pm. The Division 2 playoff final will be the following Wednesday night, 22nd March, at 8pm.

Goal of the night: Some great strikes by Westport United’s Danny Scahill and Jimmy Killeen for Ballyglass but Scahill’s teammate Joe Lawless takes the award for finishing off a great move down the field in the first half. United at their best.
Goalkeeper of the night: Pat Delaney pulled off some big saves for Ballyglass and started the comeback with a goal before half-time.
Player of the night: Dave Hoban and Joe Lawless were standouts for Westport United. This week’s award goes to Jimmy Killeen of Ballyglass. At the centre of everything good for their comeback in the second half.

78 Views - Last updated: 25/03/23