News Report

Kiltimagh/Knock United Masters Team 2022/23

News Report

Oliver Kelleher Masters Cup Quarter Finals Review


THE final four left standing in the Oliver Kelleher Masters Cup are now known following a night of drama at Solar 21 Park last Wednesday night

The first two quarterfinals at 7pm saw no drama as Westport United and Ballinrobe Town eased into the semi-finals, where they will face each other.

Westport United had too much for Division 3 outfit Swinford, running out 8-1 winners in the end. Sean Hoban (two), Austin O’Malley, Jesper Frisch, Shane Nallen, Stephen Suckle, Tom Burke and Danny Scahill all netted for the Covies, while Paul Kenny got a consolation goal for Swinford in the second half.

A hattrick from JP O’Gorman saw Ballinrobe Town on their way to a 7-2 win over Division 3’s Ballyglass B. Ballinrobe’s other goals came through Richard Forde, Padraic Costello, an own goal and Peter Staunton, while Declan Tonra got both goals for Ballyglass B.

The other two games were real cup games that saw late drama in the both. Ballyglass came from behind as they beat six man Claremorris 7-4.
Conor O’Keeffe (two), Jarlath Varley and Paul Ryan put Claremorris 4-1 to the good, with a free kick from James Killeen the sole response from Ballyglass. The tie turned on its head midway through the second half when Ryan handballed an inswinging corner from Ballyglass on the goalline. Referee Aiden Nevin pointed to the penalty spot, with Ryan shown a straight red card, and Killeen duly converted. It was all Ballyglass from this point and the Division 2 side sealed the win through goals by John Walsh (two), Anthony Killeen, Alan Larkin and PJ Gibbons.

They will meet Kiltimagh/Knock United in the other semi-final, as KK also came from behind to beat Ballyvary Blue Bombers 4-3 in a heated contest. KK struck the post early on through Conor Heneghan early on before John O’Hara put them ahead. Simon Cloherty, Declan Neary and Kevin Mannion put Ballyvary ahead but KK, who hit the woodwork on two further occasions, found their touch in front of goal. Heneghan and Gavin Groarke brought it level before scored a late winner.

Both semi-finals will be played this Wednesday at 7pm in Solar 21 Park.
Goal of the night: JP O’Gorman’s goal to seal his hattrick for Ballinrobe Town was a touch of class. A brilliant turn to get away from the defender before firing an unstoppable first-time shot into the roof of the net.

Goalkeeper of the night:
Pat Delaney of Ballyglass made some crucial saves through the tie against Claremorris.

Player of the night: Standout performances from Ballinrobe Town’s JP O’Gorman, Westport United’s Austin O’Malley and. Gavin Groarke for Kiltimagh/Knock United was touch above the rest as he drove his team on for their comeback win over Ballyvary Blue Bombers, scoring the equaliser and winner.


101 Views - Last updated: 25/03/23