Mayo Football League
Mayo Football League - Logo

Mayo Football League

News Report

Calor Gas Cup Final Review


Conn Rangers- Calor Gas Premier Cup Winners 2019

Conn Rangers are Calor Gas Premier Cup Champions while Ballyglass, Straide & Foxford United, Snugboro United and Ballina Town are through to the Quarter Finals of the Calor Gas Super Cup

Calor Gas Premier Cup

Conn Rangers are celebrating tonight after they came out on top in a seven-goal thriller with Kiltimagh/Knock United to lift the Calor Gas Premier Cup at Solar 21 Park earlier today. They were much the better side in the first half and should have taken the lead inside the opening ten minutes when Eoin Prendergast missed an open goal after rounding Niall Walshe in the Kiltimagh/Knock goal. Prendergast though was a threat all game and he broke the deadlock on twenty six minutes when he camly slotted the ball home after Liam Durkin unselfishly squared the ball to him after a good move down the right wing. Rangers then doubled their lead within five minutes as Lorcan Towey hit the goal of the game with a sweet first time shot from twenty yards that nestled into the top left-hand corner of the Kiltimagh/Knock net to leave his side well in control at the break. Within two minutes of the restart Rangers looked to have all but sealed the win when right back Darragh Jordan extended their lead only for Kiltimagh/Knock to pull a goal back five minutes later as Darragh Hanlon outsmarted the Conn Rangers keeper to give his side renewed hope. The next goal was going to be crucial and it came the way of the North Mayo side as Prendergast doubled is tally for the day as his outpaced the defence before rounding Walshe and finishing into an empty net. At this stage it looked like their was no way back for Aiden Flatley’s side but they made a game of it as Justin Kelly got their second with fifteen minutes to go and Cormac Caulfield added a third as the game entered injury time. Conn Rangers were under real pressure at this stage but they held on despite a frantic finish as they won their first piece of silverware since 2014.

Calor Gas Super Cup
There were plenty of goals in the first-round ties of the Calor Gas Super Cup but Ballyglass just needed one as they caused a shock by knocking out Westport United with a late goal at the Sports Park. There were twenty-seven goals in the other three ties as Snugboro United, Straide & Foxford United and Ballina Town progressed to the Quarter Finals. Benny Lavelle was the hero for Ballina as he scored a hat-trick in their 4-3 win over Ballyheane while Jack Tuffy (2) and Nathan Reilly-Doyle hit the goals for the away side.
Snugboro United were 6-5 winners over Ballina Town B while Straide & Foxford United put last weeks relegation behind them as they got revenge on Ballyhaunis Town with a 6-3 win in Station Rise.

Our Sponsors...